Loading...

Switch Language

You present quantitative data to inform, alert, persuade and to call people to action! A few seconds is all it takes to capture your audience’s attention… or to lose it forever. Do you remember the last Excel spreadsheet you saw projected onto a screen? No? It’s quite normal! To be effective and to remain in your audience’s memory, raw data needs to be transformed into presentation data. Find out how with . Dress up your numbers!

DO’S & DON’TS

picto-1  90º THAT CHANGES EVERYTHING

Vertical histograms are highly efficient graphics. However, when the horizontal axis labels are long and therefore at an angle, the message is not so clear. Rotate your histogram by 90° and work your graph in a horizontal format. There’s plenty of space for the axis labels: you can even make use of the additionally space within the bars. By the way, if you can, rearrange your data in ascending or descending order.

  TOO MUCH COLOUR KILLS COLOUR!

Avoid using too many different colours in your graphics. The most common mistake is to give a different colour to each data item. Colour is an element of differentiation that must be used sparingly and which should serve your message. What do you want your audience to see?

SAY “NO!” TO THE FLOATING 3D PIE CHART!

If 3D means nothing and is only there for decorative purposes, get rid of it! It restricts the perceived reality and value of your graph. It unnecessarily complicates your data-visualisation (additional shades of colours, superfluous lines …). S-I-M-P-L-I-F-Y! In general, and for all your graphics, focus on presenting in 2D.

WITH YOUR TABLES, GIVE PROMINENCE TO YOUR INFORMATION!

Tables are very effective tools for written communication but much less suited, if at all, to a visual presentation format or to being projected onto a large screen. The graphics also suffer from another faux pas, namely the use of default formatting: too many colours, too many lines, too many prominent grids, and in particular no hierarchy between the main information (values) and the secondary information (grids, background, etc.). Make the secondary information as small as possible, using grey for example, and only use colour to make your information stand out.

TO AVOID INDIGESTION, DON’T USE MORE THAN 6 PIECES OF PIE IN YOUR CHART!

If you use more than 6 parts in a pie chart it becomes very complicated for your audience to decipher. Remember, graphs are used to shorten the comprehension time and to simplify concepts. The strength of a great data visualisation tool is that it can be understood in an instant!
More than 6 parts? Try other graphs such as histograms or bar charts, for example.


PSSSSST!
If you want to contact us,
or learn more about us,
follow me!

Loading...

Switch Language

Vous présentez des données chiffrées pour informer, alerter, convaincre et inviter à l’action ! Quelques secondes suffisent pour capter l’attention de votre auditoire … ou la perdre définitivement. Vous souvenez-vous du dernier tableau Excel projeté sur écran que vous avez vu ? Non ? C’est normal ! Pour être efficaces et laisser une trace dans les mémoires, les données brutes sont transformées en données de présentation. Découvrez comment avec Faites chanter les chiffres !

DO’S & DON’T

picto-1  90° qui changent tout

Les histogrammes verticaux sont des graphiques très efficaces. Mais quand les étiquettes de l’axe horizontal sont longues et donc en obliques, ce n’est plus aussi clair. Pivotez votre histogramme de 90° et travaillez votre graphique en format horizontal. Il y a toute la place pour les étiquettes de l’axe, pour les étiquettes de données que vous pourrez en plus placer dans les barres. Au passage, si vous le pouvez, réorganisez vos données en ordre croissant ou décroissant.

  TROP DE COULEURS TUE LA COULEUR !

Evitez d’utiliser trop de couleurs différentes dans vos graphiques. L’erreur la plus commune étant de donner une couleur différente à chaque donnée. La couleur est un élément de différenciation qui doit être utilisé avec parcimonie et est au service de votre message. Que voulez-vous que votre audience voie ?

DITES « NON » AU CAMEMBERT VOLANT EN 3D !

Si la 3ème dimension ne signifie rien et n’a qu’une fonction décorative, débarrassez-vous-en ! Elle tronque la perception de la réalité et des valeurs de votre graphique. Elle complexifie inutilement votre data-visualisation (couleurs dégradées supplémentaires, droites et obliques superflues, …). S-I-M-P-L-I-F-I-E-Z ! De manière générale et pour tous vos graphiques, privilégiez les représentations en 2D.

POUR VOS TABLEAUX, FAITES LA PART BELLE A L’INFORMATION !

Les tableaux sont des outils très efficaces pour la communication écrite et nettement moins adaptés, pour ne pas dire pas du tout à un format de présentation visuelle ou en projection. Le graphisme des tableaux souffre d’un autre malentendu, l’utilisation des mises en forme par défaut du logiciel : trop de couleurs, trop de traits, des grilles trop marquées et surtout aucune hiérarchie entre l’information principale (les valeurs) et l’information secondaire (les grilles, l’arrière-fond, etc.). Allégez au maximum les informations secondaires en utilisant du gris par exemple et utilisez de la couleur uniquement pour passer une information.

POUR éVITER l’INDIGESTION, PAS PLUS DE 6 PARTS DE CAMEMBERT !

Au-delà de 6 parts dans un graphique en camembert, cela devient très compliqué à décrypter pour votre audience. Or, on utilise les graphiques pour écourter le délai de compréhension et simplifier les concepts. La force d’une bonne data-visualisation, c’est d’être saisie instantanément !
Plus de 6 parts ? Essayez d’autres graphiques comme les histogrammes ou les barres empilées, par exemple.


PSSSSST !
Si vous voulez nous contacter,
ou en savoir plus sur nous,
suivez moi !